Parkinson’s News Forums Forums Family and ​Caregivers​ overwhelming as a caregiver

• overwhelming as a caregiver

Posted by kathleen provorse on August 9, 2021 at 7:03 pm

I also am a full time caregiver for my husband of 46 years. I am also a nurse who had to give up my job to maintain his level of care in our home. It certainly is overwhelming to not only see the level of care he requires,but how he seems to be a different person all together. It not only changes your life,but it seems to require me as the caregiver to maintain my level of calm which is nearly impossible.
    I ask myself how do other caregivers cope with this? I have seen this disease and treated residents at nursing homes for 35 years. It is so different when it is in your own family and one person is totally responsible for day to day life.
    God Bless each and every caregiver and hope we all stay strong
    kathy

Ginni replied 4 months, 1 week ago 25 Members · 38 Replies
  • 38 Replies
  • Diana

August 10, 2021 at 2:21 pm

Hi Kathy,

Thank you for this honest post. My husband was diagnosed about a year and a half ago. He is now 64. I have already noticed many physical changes. He used to be full of energy and now he must rest a lot. He also shuffles and almost loses his balance quite a bit, but the thing I worry about the most right now is when he starts to choke. I have also noticed personality changes. I understand that he must be angry and frustrated, but he sometimes takes it out on me, saying I don’t understand and won’t be able to “deal” with him as he worsens.

I will do whatever I must for him, however I am honestly quite scared. As a nurse, you already have the temperament, experience and skills to deal with such a condition. I do not. I wonder how he will become and what life will be like. I hope that he will stay as he is, but I know that is unlikely.

I am afraid, and I often feel guilty for feeling afraid.

Thank you again for sharing honestly what it is like for a caregiver.