• This topic has 5 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 10 months ago by RT.
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Mary Beth Skylis

My dad recently got over a bout of Covid-19. For the most part, his sickness was relatively mild. But he was convinced that his Parkinson’s symptoms escalated in severity while he was ill. But he seems to be back to normal now. Have any of you had Covid? If so, do you feel that it changed your Parkinson’s symptoms?

Marla Klein
      Participant

My husband had covid and his symptoms did increase and it took about three weeks from onset till he was back where he was before being sick. More mobility issues more tremors more general weakness and lots of sleep. This is the first week he is joyful again back into all his therapies too and back on track.

Lyn Richards
      Participant

During my practice as a psychologist, I worked with many people with diminished cognitive reserve due to acquired brain injury from workplace or motor vehicle accidents. I noticed that whenever my clients had a viral infection — even a cold — they described worse cognitive problems: poorer memory, slower thinking; more trouble organizing themselves. This was scary for them, feeling they were losing the gains they had made in recovery. It was helpful for them to know that there was a reason for it, and that it was temporary. Parkinson’s is a different kind of  injury to the brain, but has the same effect of reducing the “reserves” that we need to cope with increased demands, so I think we can expect our symptoms to worsen when we have an infection — and know that we are not just on a downhill slide!