• Memory Issues

Posted by toni-shapiro on December 17, 2019 at 1:52 pm

I think I made a mistake as to how to bring up an issue on a topic.  I put it in my profile instead.  I just found this now so I will repeat what I put in my log because I don’t know if that goes into the public form or not.  Thank you for you patience.

I have been having memory issues that scare me especially knowing that I can get hit with dementia or Alzheimers. I can’t find memory issues on the form.  I was standing on a well worn corner of my little town with my husband and although things did look familiar I didn’t know where I was.  It was a frightening feeling even though it only lasted a minute before I know where we were and where I was going.  When I was still driving I forgot how to start my car, I forgot how to use the tv remote, I forgot how to use my coffee machine that I had been using for 20 years.  I left a pizza in the over until it turned into ashes and a pot of sauce on the stove that burned down to nothing but a black crust on the bottom of the pan I had to throw out. I asked my husband if there were any birthday cards for me when he came up with the mail.  He gave me a weird look.  This was in September and my birthday is in July.  Of all the movement and inner issues I have this memory thing is the most frightening.

mary-klein-john-klein replied 4 years, 2 months ago 7 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • curtis-nelson

December 19, 2019 at 10:32 am

I have to agree with you, this memory thing is the most frightening. My situation is minor, I go from the kitchen to the pantry and have to stop and think what it was I went there for, things like this through out the day. But I’m feeling your pain. Your not alone.

• mike-p

December 23, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Hi Toni-