Parkinson’s News Forums Forums Living ​With​ ​Parkinson’s How Do you navigate Parkinson’s changes?

• Donna K

April 11, 2023 at 4:30 pm

I’m going thru my first experiences with stiffness. The left hip freezes and is so unpredictable that I’m afraid to go for a walk just because I might get stuck along the way. It’s difficult to manage walking and I know I need a better cane.

• Edward Fritz

April 18, 2023 at 4:34 pm

I am an accomplished amateur classical pianist, and when I retired 3 years ago I was looking forward to spending a lot more time with this hobby. Without question the single most annoying part of Parkinson’s for me has been the effect it has had on my pianistic abilities. There are days where I get so frustrated that I have to just take a break.
    One way I deal with this is to focus more on what I still can do. I select less technically difficult pieces that are just as rewarding to play. I focus on lesser-known composers and repertoire. Doing this has helped me to stay active with a piano group I have belonged to for years, and they now look forward each month to hearing what recent discoveries I have found. The result is that I enjoy performing now as much as I ever have, and anticipate being able to do so for as long as possible!

• James Mortimer

April 20, 2023 at 9:16 am

My diary for 19th April gives an indication of where we are with my wife’s PD, how it changes and what we do to deal with them.

LIVING WITH PARKINSON’S, 19th APRIL 2023.
    After almost 3 years, Jen’s PD has become a claustrophobic focus of concern, in which falls may happen at any time, happily so far with none of the many striking a hard surface. The 14 tea, water and wine spillages on carpets, sofas, beds, etc, have stopped, due mainly to Jen using a baby cup, and to eating mostly at the table.