• Posted by geraldine-rondeau on October 15, 2019 at 11:38 am

Hello:

This is my first time.  I’ve been wondering what other PDiers experience when visiting their Neurologist?

I wait months for an appointment and then it’s an in & out experience.  ie:  How do you feel; increase medications & nothing further.

Is this a normal appointment experience?  Should I be looking for more &/or another doctor?

Thank you, for any & all suggestions.

Sincerely,

Geraldine Rondeau

chris-manning replied 4 years, 5 months ago 6 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • Deleted User

Deleted User
    October 15, 2019 at 11:46 am

Any Canadians out there who can share their experiences?

geraldine, I am in NY.  It can take months to get appt. with a doctor, but I have found with my neurologist that when I really need to speak to him, his office will squeeze me in within a few days.  As for in and out, I believe that is doctor dependent. My neurologist treats me as a full person and he usually spends at least 30 minutes with me.  I have been to almost 10 neurologists since I was diagnosed in 2015 and I like some much more than others.

It seems you r not comfortable with your dr.  I would suggest you check out another neurologist to see if you are more comfortable with their treatment style

• geraldine-rondeau

October 15, 2019 at 12:08 pm

Thank you, Jean Mellano, for answering my request and yes I think that suggestion is my best course of action to take.

I’m 72 & was finally diagnosed after I moved to St Catharines, ON CANADA 4 years ago.

• Deleted User

Deleted User
      October 15, 2019 at 12:11 pm

Good luck to you.  This disease is so complex with so many options to treat

with meds as well as alternative therapies, it is good to find a doctor who is open minded and cares about you as the person.

• ally

October 15, 2019 at 6:05 pm

I used to live in St. Catharines! Are you enjoying the city? 🙂

• gail-dons

October 20, 2019 at 11:19 pm