• Music and fine motor skills

Posted by ally on November 11, 2021 at 8:36 pm

Can music help people with Parkinson’s disease recover fine motor skills, such as those required for writing, self-care, and fine object manipulation? That’s the subject of a new research study underway at the University of Colorado. Listen to this flash briefing to learn more. Click here to learn more about enrolling in the study as a participant.

What do you think of this news? Are you interested in participating in this study?

alan-m replied 1 year, 10 months ago 11 Members · 13 Replies
  • 13 Replies
  • susan-watkins

November 17, 2021 at 12:44 am

I started playing guitar to help with the fine motor skills and once the Azilect calmed my mild resting tremor. Most of my PD involves muscle and tendon issues which pt helps tremendously. Seek a pt that specializes in sports medicine as I found that they arecmore inept to push you and focuses on balance issues ti eliminate falls.

• thomas-rutschman

November 18, 2021 at 12:20 pm

I sing in a choir and that has helped by voice to be stronger. The isolation during the Covid pandemia was not good for my voice, though. I started doing magic tricks to keep my fine motor skills, as well as doing some carpentry projects. (I make wooden puzzles for kids.) My guitar playing has take a toll, though–it is not as fun as it once was. My mother, who had Multiple Systems atrophy quit playing the piano a few years before she passed away. And she was a piano teacher most of her life.

• ally

May 19, 2022 at 8:01 pm

Hi Thomas, thanks for sharing. How did you get into making puzzles? That’s a really cool hobby (or is it your profession?) and I’ve never met another person who does that.

• alan-m

November 18, 2021 at 6:25 pm

I hope the News Forum allows me to post this time.  I tried to post a reply on Mary Beth’s “Stress” query but the URL said it could not post it at this time???