• Should you disclose PD diagnosis to an employer?

Posted by Matthew Ploof on July 20, 2023 at 7:21 am

The reason I am asking this question is that I will be dealing with a new principal this upcoming school year.  I did share my diagnosis with my last principal, and she was very understanding and accommodating. I don’t want my new principal to assume things when she sees me stumble or walk down the hallway in an unusual manner.  People can assume drug or alcohol usage when they see certain characteristics associated with PD. I also want my principal to understand that I may need to take days off because of my PD. What are your thoughts?

Tom1959 replied 9 months, 1 week ago 6 Members · 6 Replies
  • 6 Replies
  • Thomas Rutschman

July 20, 2023 at 9:53 am

I chose to tell my principal (I am also a teacher) and colleagues about my Parkinson’s diagnosis.  That gave me the “right” to do unusual things (like take a  cat-nap between classes) or get a schedule adapted to my limitations.  But I live in Sweden where it is hard to fire a person.  If I lived somewhere that it is easy to get fired, I might not have been so open.

In the years since I retired I actually got a lot better thanks to taking a teaspoon of powdered Mannitol (a sugar alcohol) in my orange juice every day.  So my Parkinson’s isn’t as noticeable and most of my symptoms have become less intense. (Mannitol prevents clumps of the protein α-synuclein from forming in the brain — a process that is characteristic of Parkinson’s disease.)

Good luck!

• Sherman Paskett

July 20, 2023 at 3:49 pm