• Late Day Levodopa/Carbidopa Does Not Working

Posted by ronald-cochran on December 18, 2019 at 2:05 pm

I am writing on behalf of my Mother.  She is 90 years old.  She has had PD and has taken Sinemet for 10 years, so luckily her PD has progressed slowly.   In recent months her normal 3:00 PM dose does little to control her symptoms.  In particular her tremors become much move severe a short time after that dose.

I have read of a number of Extended-Release meds., that might help her with this problem.

Has anyone experienced such a late day Sinemet dose problem?  If so, might you have ideas of a medication that might help?

ephren replied 4 years, 1 month ago 11 Members · 17 Replies
  • 17 Replies
  • Deleted User

Deleted User
    December 18, 2019 at 5:46 pm

hi ronald, have you spoken to your mom’s neurologist about his?  as i understand it,sinemet does NOT slow or stop disease progression, rather it helps to alleviate movement symptoms (eg; tremor). I am not a health professional but i would venture to say the sinemt is losing its efficacy to control symptoms due to disease progression.  an adjustment to her sinemet dosage maybe in order.

• rcb1040

December 19, 2019 at 9:45 pm

Hi Ronald.   Interesting question.

I am 66 yrs old diagnosed 18 months ago.  Probably really in my 3rd full year. Been on sinemet for 12 months.

The past six months I have been dealing with off times before and after all sinemet doses.  This was and still is worst around my 3pm sinemet dose time.

To deal with this, my doctor has me using both

Sinemet and Sinemet ER in a way that seems to be helping.

Of course, this is what we are tying for my particular version of the PD thing.

And we all know that we each have our own particular version of this PD thing so I

don’t know if what works for me would work for your mother.

Best of luck.

Robert

• ronald-cochran

December 20, 2019 at 9:10 am

Hi Robert,