Parkinson’s News Forums Forums Family and ​Caregivers​ How has your life changed since the diagnosis?

• How has your life changed since the diagnosis?

Posted by mary-beth-skylis on January 27, 2020 at 6:05 am

A Parkinson’s diagnose is scary for everyone who is involved. It brings alot of changes into our lives (and sometimes very quickly). But we don’t always think about the changes that happen for caregivers.

As a caregiver, how has your life changed since the diagnosis? Have you adjusted your work schedule? What other habits or routines have shifted in your life?

ally replied 4 years, 2 months ago 6 Members · 12 Replies
  • 12 Replies
  • garrett-mcauliffe

January 29, 2020 at 9:35 am

In many ways. I was diagnosed 10 years ago and I’ve watched the progression over those 10 years. It seems like my biggest concern is about my career.As I may have mentioned before, I work as a professor, which allows me to work at home much of the time and to cut back from my long hours that I formerly worked. Due to symptoms,I am anxious about going into class, fearing that my tremor will return and the other symptoms like the “foggy brain” phenomenon.
    I’ve gotten some help with accommodations at work like having a teaching assistant in all my classes to take care of the details which overwhelmed me. But I am intimidated from engaging any major complex projects. So I cut back as best I can. But I enjoy the work that I do and the meaning it gives to me. My brother says that I should retire but that doesn’t feel like an option. Maybe he’s right.

I also am hesitant about engaging in events, not being sure how I’ll be, whether it’s going to a concert, the movies, or a party. I fear disappointing friends and then being less involved with me. So I try to keep up via text or phone calls and selective social events.I am generally very outgoing  So that is a change.