Andy C



Year of Birth





Mexico City



Short Bio

G’day my name is Andy, I am a 50 year old  Australian male, living in Mexico City prior to that i have lived in Netherlands, Singapore Scotland, Hong Kong over the last 26 years.  I live with my angel of a fiancée, Alejandra, who is also my primary caregiver along with our cat, Boris (10 yo), and more recently arrived Boston terrier Chewbacca (3 mths). Formally diagnosed in March 2019 at mid stage 3 and currently at beginning of stage 4.  Non-Motor symptoms are generally more problematic i.e. insomnia, metabolism, depression, anxiety than motor skills although recently i have noticed I am falling more, suffering rigidity, and tremors etc.   I see a great MDS Neurologist and Orthopedic Surgeon due to my chronic Osteoporosis (both shoulders replaced and lower back reconstructed twice).

Life is still good even though i don’t drive or work.  I occupy myself with hobbies such as balcony and terrarium gardening, wood-carving and whittling and experimenting with all forms of picture art i.e. water-color paints and pencils, oils, acrylic paints, crayons, charcoals, graphite sticks and normal colored pencils.

I walk 2-3 miles minimum everyday walking the dog. and the rest of the exercise i get is doing household cleaning seeping, washing, vacuuming, dusting, polishing, and cooking the evening meal,  both for exercise and to help out given my fiancée  Ale, works 12 hours a day and away from home anywhere between 13 & 14 hours with drive and traffic  So i am still relatively active but slower.

The thing that scares me the most is the risk of pneumonia, last year I was admitted to the ICU on two occasions for bacterial pneumonia that was so severe my organs had started failing and both time were different bacterial causes.  over the years I have had milder bacterial pneumonia or walking pneumonia at least a dozen times so i seem prone to it even though i am the fittest i have been in 30 years having lost over 40 kilos in 2019 alone.

I guess that’s enough rambling for a bio please feel free to ask me any questions i will answer as I have found being straight and honest about this dastardly disease is the best policy.  Cheers and Best Wishes Andy

How did you hear about us?

Parkinson's News Today Newsletter

How long have you or the person that you are caring for had PD?

Formally diagnosed 10 months ago, March 2019, although suffering various symptoms on and off for between 8 and 10 years

Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

I agree